The subtle significance of Photo Editing

Editing photos to me seems almost more like a requirement than an option. Even though cameras are getting better and better at capturing what we see, our eyes can just see so much more than cameras ever can. Photo editing is my way of trying to match what I know my eyes see in a moment, and what I know my camera didn’t quite capture. Photo editing should be very subtle, and almost unnoticeable. To me, it should be a magnification of what was captured. For instance, making brights brighter, making sure if shadows are hiding something awesome, you should be able to see it, making colors more vibrant, warms warmer, cools colder, etc. Very rarely will I ever just start adding in color or effects that I don’t believe I saw. But of course you can just do whatever the heck you feel like haha. Anyways, here are two examples of what I mean. Photos are worth a thousand words as they say, so here are four!

BEFOREFullSizeRender 8

AFTER
FullSizeRender 7


 

BEFORE
IMG_3101 (1)

AFTER
IMG_3101

Leave a Reply

